(De)ception: A Review

by Dax-Devlon Ross

A Dazzling Disappointment

(Spoilier Alert: If you haven’t seen Inception this may ruin the movie for you.)

It didn’t make sense. I was supposed to not just like Inception; I was supposed to thoroughly enjoy it. I was supposed to be stimulated and rejuvenated. I was supposed to be reminded what film can do. When I first saw the trailer for Christopher Nolan’s opus I had the kind of reaction that’s normally reserved for the NBA Finals. Instead, I left the Battery Park Stadium Cinema in Lower Manhattan pissed off. The movie had irked me and I couldn’t quite put my finger on it. My home girl loved it. I had no choice but to rain on her parade.

“What did you think?” I asked.

“It was really good,” she asked.

“I wish I could agree,” I said. And I did. I really, really did want to like this movie. But like just wasn’t the word to describe my pissed-offness. Read the rest of this entry »